From my meanderings:

IMG_6402Thought these ferns left a great silhouette.

IMG_6404

IMG_6409This bit of reflected light reminded me of some installation at a modern art museum.

IMG_6410Wondered how all these crushed condiment cups ended up in the same place. Sometimes I like to imagine the moment something got there, like did someone steal all these condiment cups from the salsa bar, only to accidentally spill them all on the ground?

Come to think of it, the photo looks a bit like a bunch of condoms on the ground. Which I suppose could be an equally intriguing story…

Was thinking about how it’s good to take walks with someone who has a really different way of looking at things than you. I dated someone once who was in this obsessive photo-taking/Polaroid phase. I could never tell in advance what he would take a photo of, he would just suddenly stop in front of this mundane hillside and see something beautiful in it that he wanted to capture. I love that, and I think that’s so important.

Speaking of walks, I was thinking about that unstructured half-hour I get (nearly) every day. There’s something healthy, I think, about meandering. When you’re always directed at something, you don’t give your intuitive side a chance to breathe. It’s kind of nice to set out and not really know where I’m going.

A while ago found this book called On Looking: Eleven Walks with Expert Eyes, by Alexandra Horowitz. I was so excited that there was a book about taking walks, but ultimately I couldn’t get halfway through the first chapter. It was just too boring. I guess I’d rather take walks than read about them, but it’s worth checking out if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

